American Pride…Never Fades

“If tomorrow all the things were gone I’d worked for all my life.
And I had to start again with just my children and my wife.
I’d thank my lucky stars to be living here today.
Cause the flag still stands for freedom
And they can’t take that away.
And I’m proud to be an American where at least I know I’m free.
And I won’t forget the men who died who gave that right to me.
And I gladly stand up, next to you and defend her still today.
‘Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land…God bless the USA.”

The above words were taken from Lee Greenwood’s song, “God Bless the USA.” They never fail to fill my heart with pride and bring a tear to my eye. I remember a time during the Gulf War when the country was united with pride and love. I was working at a local nursing home and we hosted a program to demonstrate our support for the war efforts. This song was chosen to play during the festivities. Honor and pride was seen on every face in the room when it played! This same united spirit was demonstrated around the country after 9/11. Remember? The country came together as one. It was love for our county and for our fellow Americans that made this possible. This same love has been demonstrated countless times before and since.

Lee Greenwood’s song was released as a single in 1984. That year, it was played at the Republican National Convention with then-President Ronald Reagan and First Lady Nancy Reagan in attendance. As the years have gone by, the song has become a rallying cry during various times of crisis in America.

During this week of unprecedented political rivalry and change, remember this feeling of love and pride and what makes our country great. Take a stand. Get out and vote and let your voice be heard. Unite with other Americans and exercise the right that has been defended for 240 years. Honor those men and women who have defended our freedoms (including the right to vote) on Veterans Day, November 11th. We DO still live in the greatest country on earth no matter who wins the election or how much mud-slinging has occurred.

The Simple Heart of Life will be honoring Veterans in two local nursing homes in our local area and of course, voting will be a priority on Tuesday, November 8th. A heartfelt THANK YOU goes out to all service men and women who have served as well as those who are currently serving. I, for one, am VERY proud to be an American and call this great country home!

Leave a Reply

