Phenomenal Women…

” It is never too late to be what you might have been.” -George Eliot

This past weekend, hundreds of thousands of women, men and children joined together in cities across the country to show their solidarity and support of each other. I am very proud to say that my niece, Cassie was among them in Boston, Massachusetts. These marches were a strong reminder of just how far human (women’s) rights have come in America. They were also a reminder, however, of how very fragile the nature of freely enjoying and keeping these rights actually is.

In the spirit of women everywhere, I wanted to share several inspirational messages and poems that express the pride and sentiment I feel in being a woman. If the battles of my ancestors have taught me anything, it is the importance of appreciating the efforts of those who have come before me and the strength and uniqueness of those who stand beside me.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I have had this first poem for many years. The author is unknown but the sentiment expressed is shared by many.

Woman
was made from the rib of man.
She was not created from his head-
to top him.
Nor from his feet-
to be stepped upon.
She was made from his side-
to be equal to him.
From beneath his arm-
to be protected by him.
Near his heart-
to be loved by him.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Any girl who grew up in 1970’s is familiar with this next one. It is taken from the lyrics of Helen Reddy’s hit single, I Am Woman. It struck a chord with women and girls 40 years ago and still rings true today. (Sing along if you want, you know the tune 🙂

I Am Woman
I am woman, hear me roar
in numbers too big to ignore.
And I know too much to go back and pretend.
‘Cause I’ve heard it all before
And I’ve been down there on the floor
No one’s ever gonna keep me down again.
Oh yes, I am wise.
But it’s wisdom born of pain.
Yes, I’ve paid the price
But look how much I gained.
If I have to, I can do anything.
I am strong (strong)
I am invincible (invincible)
I am woman.
You can bend but never break me
‘Cause it only serves to make me
More determined to achieve my final goal.
And I come back even stronger
Not a novice any longer
‘Cause you’ve deepened the conviction in my soul…. (repeat)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I have posted this next story on my blog in the past. It’s message is so inspirational to me, however, I think it is worth re-posting. It highlights some of the greatest differences between men and women. I am not sure who the author is, but it was posted on-line by Yvette Debono.

Why Women Shed Tears
A little boy asked his mother, “Why are you crying?” “Because I’m a woman”, she told him.
“I don’t understand,” he said. His mother just hugged him and said, “and you never will.”
Later, the little boy asked his father, “Why does mother seem to cry for no reason?”
“All women cry for no reason.” was all his dad would say.
The little boy grew up and became a man, still wondering why women cry.
Finally, he put in a call to God. When God got on the phone, he asked, “Dear God, why do women cry so easily?”
God said, “When I made the woman she had to be special.
I made her shoulders strong enough to carry the weight of the world, however, gentle enough to give comfort.
I gave her an inner strength to endure childbirth and the rejection that many times comes from her children.
I gave her a hardness that allows her to keep going even when everyone else gives up and to be able to take care of her family through sickness and fatigue without complaining.
I gave her the sensitivity to love her children under any and all circumstances, even when her child has hurt her very badly.
I gave her strength to carry her husband through his faults and even fashioned her from his rib to protect his heart.
I gave her wisdom to know that a good husband never hurts his wife but sometimes tests her strengths and her resolve to stand beside him unfalteringly.
And, finally, I gave her a tear to shed. This is hers exclusively, which she can use whenever it its needed.”
“You see, my son,” God said, “The beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure that she carries, or the way she combs her hair. The beauty of a woman must be seen in her her eyes, because that is the doorway to her heart-the place where love resides.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
As women, we are healers, leaders and lovers of life. I am so very proud to be a woman, an aunt, a sister, a wife, a daughter and friend. Thank you for reading along and welcome to The Simple Heart of Life.

Leave a Reply

