A Gardener’s Journey…

Looking out the window this morning, it is difficult to believe that Spring will ever fully arrive this year. But as surely as the wind blows, Spring will arrive and bless us once again with nature’s beauty. This week’s blog is a gift of inspiration for all of those gardeners (like me) who are patiently waiting to get their hands in the dirt outside. Even though I continue to garden inside year round, there is no greater joy than being outside in the open air planting this year’s beauties. Enjoy!

” To plant a garden is to believe in tomorrow.” – Audrey Hepburn
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
A kiss of the sun for pardon.
The song of the birds for mirth.
You are nearer God’s heart in the garden
Than anywhere else on Earth. – Anonymous
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The Gardener’s Anonymous Creed
I want it.
I want it all.
I want it now.
If it will not grow in my zone or is prohibitively expensive,
I want it most of all.
I am perfectly willing to forgo any necessities of life such as food
for my children in order to have it.
I recognize my horticultural dependency.
I recognize your horticultural dependency.
I will willingly aid and abet your dependency, as you aid and
abet mine. This makes us infinitely happy.
All money saved by virtue of comparison shopping equals
found money and is therefore not counted as spending.
If everyone else has it, I must have it too.
If no one else has it, I must get it first.
If I have planted everything I have already purchased, I must
immediately buy more plants.
…At this point, it is customary to recite your Visa number from memory.
-Anonymous
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My Wife, the Gardener
She dug the plot on Monday-
the soil was rich and fine.
She forgot to thaw out dinner-
So we went out to dine…
She planted roses Tuesday
she says they are a must.
They really are quite lovely
but she forgot to dust.
On Wednesday it was daisies-
They opened up with the sun,
all whites and pinks and yellows-
but the laundry wasn’t done…
The poppies came on Thursday-
a bright and cheery red.
I guess she really was engrossed-
she never made the bed…
It was violets on Friday-
in colors she adores,
It never bothered her at all-
all crumbs upon the floors.
I hired a maid on Saturday-
my week is now complete.
My wife can garden all she wants-
the house will still be neat!
It’s nearly lunchtime Sunday-
and I cannot find the maid.
Oh no! I don’t believe it!
She’s out there WITH THE SPADE! – Anonymous
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
To a Butterfly
I’ve watched you now a full half-hour;
Self-poised upon that yellow flower.
And, little Butterfly! Indeed
I know not if you sleep or feed.
How motionless!– not frozen seas
More motionless! and then
What joy awaits you, when the
breeze hath found you out among the trees,
And calls you forth again! – William Wordsworth
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The Gardener’s Creed
Whose woods these are, I think I know.
You’ll find her in her garden, though.
The garden one sees driving by,
Is not the same that meets the eye.
Of she who with a spade and hoe
Is possessed with every plant to try.
The work entailed you cannot know,
In making this little garden grow.
Planted so well throughout the years,
For bitter cold or sun that sears;
Eliminating every weed
rejoicing as each flower appears.
Following the faithful gardener’s creed,
She plants a prayer with every seed.
Anticipating it’s every need,
Anticipating it’s every need. – Joyce Johnson
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Herbs
A little garden in which to walk,
an immensity in which to dream,
at one’s feet that which can be
cultivated and plucked;
overhead that which one can study and
meditate upon;
some herbs on earth and all
the stars in the sky. – Hugo
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Our herb shop, The Simple Heart of Life, will host a workshop this Saturday, March 18th and next Wednesday, March 22nd, Seed Starting 101. Participants will discover for themselves the healing power of planting and growing herb seeds. Post a message below for more information.
Nature’s wonders in the garden…another of life’s simple pleasures!

Leave a Reply

